Skip to content

Picture of the week…#1

February 28, 2010
A construction worker

Dan Vandiviner of Crestline Construction tamps down a circle, the base of a central decorative oblisk in the center of the new roundabout east of downtown The Dalles. Copyright Mark B. Gibson photo/The Dalles Chronicle

This is a new feature, in which I will post my favorite picture from my work at The Dalles Chronicle, from photographs published the previous week.

This photograph is from an assignment on local construction projects for a special section. The man is compacting an area for the base for an obelisk that will greet motorists entering the downtown area from the east.

One reason to write this feature is to articulate what I like about a particular photograph, something I haven’t done since college. The background is very simple, and the curve of a grain silo adds depth. The subject is lighted by low morning sunshine, giving him depth and a statuesque appearance… not unlike an obelisk himself. The man in the foreground is unsharp and mostly out of the frame. It should bother me, but it doesn’t. Blury and cropped, I can still tell what he is doing, starting up a piece of machinery.

Construction projects are a rich source for the photojournalist. Lots of people, lots of action and lots of graphic angles and repeating forms.

Driving through the construction zone the following day, a group of men were working concrete in the driving rain, water pouring off their raingear. A great idea for the future, working outside in the rain.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 22:05

    I just found your blog via a link from sister Beth. Your photography is neat! I like your work! …such simple composition and color combinations. I’ll be back!

  2. March 4, 2010 00:00

    Great picture, you are VERY talented. Every member of your family has talent oozing from their fingertips.

    • March 11, 2010 00:04

      Thank you. I think the oozing is blood, though, not talent. Dang boot straps cutting into my hands.

  3. March 10, 2010 00:35

    I like your description of this piece. It is as you say. I find myself looking and looking at this photo–there’s something about it–something mysterious and fine. I really like this picture.

Leave a Reply

