Skip to content

Etiquette and the craft of Blogging

March 11, 2010

I’ve been reading for years about the importance of blogging. “Every journalist should write a blog,” they say. I’ve been a little slow in doing so. Not because I’m afraid of the technology. I’m no geek, but I love working in Linux and trying out new programs in the world of open source, and have found that lifelong learning is a big part of my job.

My first hesitancy was the word itself, “blog.” I suppose it stands for something, but for myself it brings to mind “blobs” of undigested “stuff,” probably full of hair and bones, like what a cat or an owl might leave in an unnexpected place. Who would want to publish one?

I had the same hesitancy about using “twitter.” Such an undignified word! I feel like a “twit” every time I “tweet.”

I’m no language buff, I love to see words grow and change and “morph” into new things. If it makes sense to break the rules of grammar or word usage, I do so without pause. Yet some new words just drive me crazy. At the top of my hate list are the photographic software use of “Landscape” to mean horizontal, “portrait” to mean vertical, “grayscale” to mean black and white. The new words are unnecessary and inaccurate: Many portraits are horizontal, and many landscapes are vertical. Grayscale may be more accurate in terms of inkjet printing, but who wants to print an ambiguous “grayscale” photograph when they can print a clear and precise Black and White?

Nevertheless, I buried my dislike of wet balls of hair and bone and started a blog. I even tweet. Now I have to learn about blog etiquette and how all this stuff is supposed to work. I read, just today, that the blog author should always reply to comments. Didn’t know that, but I THINK I did it right.

Are there other points to blog etiquette I have yet to learn? I’m sure there are… please post your suggestions in reply… As one fly said to another fly, “Hey fly, you’re Dude is open.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 01:38

    Ah brother dear. I do so love your wet blobs of skin and bone. You have a way with words that is amazing. As for everything else, Fahgeddabout it! I saw someone’s ‘blog advice’ a while back – all the do’s and don’ts it generated. Huh? This is NOT their blog. This is YOUR blog, and you do with it what you choose. If we all followed the “rules”, then we would all be identical people and somehow I think they broke the mold when some of us were born! Thank you God!

    Anyway, I do look at each of your posts, and quite enjoy your style. I don’t comment on every single one, because … well, I just don’t.

    With that said, there is no need to comment on my comment or respond to my response. I know you will eventually see this, and that’s good enough for me.

    So keep on bloggin on … I will keep on following on … and enjoying every minute of it.
    Love ya Bro!

  2. Mint permalink
    March 11, 2010 01:40

    What a hoot! That made me laugh. I have never blog’d or even read a blog before this. Sooo I googled it. Here’s two I thought were pretty good. Always use punctuation and capitals and don’t cofuse truth with opinion.

  3. March 11, 2010 07:05

    I adore your blog. You are doing just fine. I’m so proud to be able to introduce your blog to my, er, blogging buddies!!! (grin)

    They have been as impressed as I have been. I think your blog is marvelous. And I’m not just throwing out bouquets. It IS wonderful.

    Your stories are marvelous, your photos are wonderful. I hope many more people find you and followy our adventures along the Columbia Gorge.

    I’ve put in a picture link to this website from my photo blog. I hope you have many visitors. I’m so proud of you.

  4. March 19, 2010 18:59

    By the way, I really identify with your description of how the word “blog” makes you feel. Our language is changing so rapidly right now it is almost hard to keep up with.

    I haven’t started “tweeting” on “twitter” yet. But it looks as though I’m gonna have to do it!

    (grin)

    Again, I love this article. Well-written, made me laugh and ponder all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

