Skip to content

New Voyage page

April 3, 2010

A new article has been added to the voyage, “The cliffs of Fisherman’s Cove.” Navigation is on the right side of this page. Article features the upstream cliffs accessed via the Kiwanis Pocket Park at “Klindt’s Cove.”

I attended the dedication of this park some years ago. Phil Klindt, now deceased, was present. His family once owned property nearby. I couldn’t really tell how he felt about the cove being named for him.

While I certainly agree that Phil Klindt was deserving of honor… he was a truly great man in The Dalles, warmhearted and open-minded, not to mention open-handed… I have used the name “Fisherman’s Cove” instead.

This is not a historical name. I have not yet discovered how the cove was originally called. But this cove has been used by fishermen for generations… every year native fishing boats, loaded with nets or fish, are pulled up on the sand and loaded or unloaded. I have also seen kayaks and even a dugout canoe tied there.

No disrespect to the Klindts, or the Kiwanis, but “Fisherman’s Cove” is far more accurate, in my mind, in describing the nature and history of this small place.

Anyone with information on the original name of this place, please leave a comment and let me know where you obtained the information. Thanks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 00:13

    How interesting! I like the name fisherman’s cove–seems fitting the way you’ve described the place. Sounds like a place I’d like to visit someday.

    Wow are we having some interesting weather! In fact, I’d better get off–the lights just flickered.

Leave a Reply

