Skip to content

Picture of the week

April 5, 2010
Jesus is arrested

I enjoy shooting the Easter pageant here in The Dalles, which begins with a “Last Supper” and ends with the resurrection. The arrest of Jesus in the garden scene is the hardest to photograph due to the total absence of light. I’ve tried for just this shot many times, and it just hasn’t worked. This time I used a tripod, but more importantly I got lucky. That said, I wish Jesus was just a little more visible in the background.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 01:57

    You caught a very good shot. That pageant would be something to see, though – the whole thing. I hope you had a good Easter.

  2. April 6, 2010 02:54

    Wonderful photo! I wish we were free Easter weekends, to join you at this pageant. I’ve had trouble with night lighting, too. You’ve done great with this picture! VERY cool!

    By the way, if you have time, check out today’s blog. (grin) I think you’ll like it!!!

    Have a wonderful week!

  3. April 6, 2010 09:49

    Nice shot Mark! I didn’t notice Jesus at first, but liked the depth of field that had him slightly burred. Ideally you would have been 10+ feet above this scene. This is what these super high ISOs are for I guess. Keep up the good work.

    • April 6, 2010 20:51

      A high ISO, a fast f2.8 lens and a tripod are needed…and then its a matter of luck and shooting “on the fly” as the scene unfolds.

Leave a Reply

