Skip to content

Little diver

April 22, 2010

A grebe dives under the water

A little grebe dives under the waves of the Columbia River. Copyright Mark B. Gibson

A small grebe makes a leap as it dives under the surface of the Columbia River near Hood River, Oregon. It was too far away for quality, I was too high above the water and I just missed the focus. I’ll be following grebes around trying to recapture the moment. Just before they dive, they pull their head back and then leap. A burst fired as they cock their head back captures the above series, so if I can work close enough I’ll be set.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 00:15

    I saw one of those in our river last week and wondered what it was. I just could NOT catch the motion you did here! They’re strange little birds, aren’t they?

    Hahaaa…they’ll probably be wondering about the hairy guy with the camera following them around.

    (grin) Have a great week!

  2. April 22, 2010 20:08

    I love this series of shots – that second one is amazing. I never realized they dived like that before!

Leave a Reply

