Skip to content

Picture of the Week

May 23, 2010
A man performs Tai Chi

A man flows through the motions of Tai Chai, part of a class offered by the Center for Living. Copyright Mark B. Gibson/The Dalles Chronicle

It was a rather odd day. I started out with walkers working out on the Riverfront Trail, which snakes through town along the banks of the Columbia River. Then it was up to the courthouse for the controversial sentencing of a sexual abuser, then up to the Celilo Cancer Center to shoot a class on Tai Chi.

I don’t recall seeing Tai Chi before. It seemed very simple and very complex. Balance and smoothness more than aerobics and sweat, motions shaped into and around scenes like a peacock and his tail.

We live in a very strange world, that all this stuff can coexist and fill our individual worlds so very differently.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Clytie permalink
    May 23, 2010 20:02

    Boy you sure get around! A very interesting day … I like this picture too, Bro. I’ve heard Tai Chi is helpful for those needing to focus. It looks like it works.

    As for me, I prefer Chai Tea over Tai Chi! Snicker.

  2. May 25, 2010 04:20

    I liked this shot–I have seen tai in motion–it is like watching a slow motion graceful dance. You’ve caught something here in this man…I don’t know how to put it into words, but something about it touches me. This photo fills my eyes, Bro. And that is the greatest compliment I can give.

Leave a Reply

