Skip to content

A Windy River

May 28, 2010

This video can be viewed larger at the YouTube site.

The month of May, 2010, began with a series of wind storms blowing through the Mid Columbia region. This video features a mixture of time-lapse and real-time video clips from one of those storms.

One of the first storms, at the end of April, blew over my tripod. It tipped only a couple of feet onto the grass, but that was enough to forcibly rip the Nikon D90 off the telephoto lens I was shooting with. I cursed the wind. The camera went in for repair of a cracked mirror box, I expedited my plans to purchase a tougher camera.

While the camera was in the shop the newspaper purchased a Flip video camera. For a camera with a lens the size of a pin head, these things actually work pretty well. The real-time video in this clip are from the Flip, most while mounted on a tripod.

I edit with Adobe Premiere Elements and after a couple dozen crashes finally realized that it could not work with the Flip’s MP4 format. Oddly, I was able to save the clips one by one as standard mpegs, then import those for editing. Various other issues made for a postive learning experience, but a rather late video considering I started shooting May 1.

The time-lapse segments were shot with the built in interval timer of my new camera. They were all shot with the camera mounted on a tripod… the shaking you see in the section of the Columbia River was because the wind was just too strong even with the tripod. When I stopped to shoot this segment, the wind whipped the car door handle from my hand, overextended the door and crushing in my front fender. I cursed the wind.

The winds have now moderated, although that could easily change. Through the summer it will blow steadily, keeping everything fairly cool. When it stops, as it sometimes does for a couple of weeks, the heat becomes unbearable. Those days, I wait impatiently for the wind to return.

Love it or hate it, this is indeed the Windy River.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Clytie permalink
    May 29, 2010 20:55

    Wow. I didn’t understand some of the technical part of your post, but I understand about cursing the wind! And then cursing the lack of wind. Sigh.

    Your video clip is amazing, bro. I really like how you put the ‘wind advisories’ in there.

    Very well done.

    Very windy.

    Bad hair day?

  2. jodz permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:05

    Wow. Way cool.
    That’s teen speak for awesome.

  3. May 31, 2010 23:30

    I was moved by this video–the wildness, the sheer beauty, the wonderful loneliness of it all.

  4. Jolene permalink
    June 1, 2010 06:39

    Wow. Very cool.
    Dan said he saw you in Wasco today – and that they “announced” your name on the P.A. I’m assuming it was Grossmiller. You are a REAL small-town celeb. Not some ‘serial killer looking dude.’ What kind of a weirdo/sicko would say that anyway??????

    • June 1, 2010 21:12

      Yeah, I slip through the crowd like a shadow and then suddenly the public address system booms out an announcement that I am there… Small towns like this, any attention, any media, is something to cheer about.

  5. October 28, 2010 07:08

    our door handles broke easily that is why we are now using tempered steel or tempered bronze;;.

  6. December 15, 2011 05:04

    this was a prodigious segment thank you for the help.

Leave a Reply

