Skip to content

Picture of the Week

July 24, 2010
Water aerobic stretching

Water Aerobics instructor Nikki Weeks guides a class in push ups during a morning session at the remodeled pool at The Dalles Fitness and Court club which is again open, with longer lanes and in a new structure. copyright Mark B. Gibson/The Dalles Chronicle

One of the reasons I do a “Picture of the Week” blog is to present my photojournalism work without the constraints of newspaper page design or the filter of editorial judgement.

Most newspapers today view photojournalism as a way to “illustrate” the reporters’ coverage of the story. Photo selection is then based on how well the photographer has interpreted the reporter, rather than the event. The resulting coverage is minus the sum of its parts… so to speak.

I prefer to view photojournalism as independent coverage, a visual exploration of the news that can stand on its own or compliment a story. Good photojournalism doesn’t just illustrate the story, it provides an additional viewpoint, an additional conclusion. The reader is then provided with a broader, more complete understanding of the person or event that is today’s “news.”

I have no control over how my pictures run in the paper, but I can control what runs on my blog. And that is why so much great work ends up running free on the internet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. clytie permalink
    July 24, 2010 23:31

    I think you are absolutely correct!

    And this is why I love your photos – and admire your writing.

  2. July 31, 2010 07:16

    I love your blog–and all the images you share. I think the world is richer for your perspective through photography. This photo is no exception–it tells a story.

Leave a Reply

