Skip to content

Picture of the Week

July 30, 2010
Bumblebee on flower

A bumblebee comes in for a morning meal. Copyright Mark B. Gibson

This was supposed to run last week while I was gone, but it didn’t… It says it did, but I think I pushed the button wrong. So here it is, I’ll just leave it as written

What does a photojournalist do when on vacation? I'm not sure what I’m doing, this post was prewritten, but chances are I’m out taking pictures. Pictures with no news value, pictures that don’t have to work if they don’t want to, pictures of things like this yellow, extremely hairy bumblebee that I shot this morning before work, visiting a flower on my front porch.

Shot with the camera on a tripod, flash on a second tripod, just before the bee landed. As soon as the bee touched down, the flower dipped out of sight under its weight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 22:08

    Oh, my. Well, if I ever got to go on vacation, this is what I would be doing too–that and doing a little artwork!

    This photo is just amazing–it reminds me of Abe Lincoln’s wonderful photography.

    If I were a faery, I think I’d like to make friends with this furry bee–ride upon his hairy back and pet his soft downy sides.

    LOVE this photo–it fills my eyes to the brim.

  2. clytie permalink
    August 11, 2010 06:04

    Oh yeah, I would be out taking pictures as well …
    Somewhere not here.
    Sigh.

    I love the bee – I think I would love to make friends with this critter too – and go for a ride, visit some flowers!

    Beautiful, bro.

  3. September 5, 2010 18:51

    Great capture…I so love macro…Peace and smooth journeys…

Leave a Reply

