Skip to content

Picture of the Week

August 8, 2010
A scarecrow outside Google server farm.

A scarecrow appears to be nodding off in the community garden just outside the grounds of Google's server farm in The Dalles. Copyright Mark B. Gibson/The Dalles Chronicle

This photo goes with a story on Google policies Sunday, Aug. 8 in The Dalles Chronicle, and online at http://www.thedalleschronicle.com.

When Google built its server farm in The Dalles it was done with a great deal of secrecy. Code named the “O2” project, it was approved, designed and built without any official word that it was a “Google” project. Even at The Chronicle, we didn’t talk about it being a Google project; we even agreed not to publish photos of it under construction on the internet. (The “we” is editorial here, I wasn’t a part of the discussion.)

Now that the excitement and secrecy seems to have moderated, this scarecrow outside the fence (it is actually guarding a community garden) can nod off at night without fear.

The security guards were not so oblivious. I walked along the sidewalk outside the fence, taking time exposures of the facility, and the security truck rolled by on the other side of the fence.

I expected them to tell me to stop taking pictures, they did that to my photo intern once. I explained to the intern that you can’t be stoped from photographing from a public space, especially if you are using a lens with a “normal” view.

The security truck passed without acknowledging me, and I was bummed. I love a good argument when I know I’m in the right. I could have used another photo of yet another security guy trying to run me off, but alas, they ignored me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 18:16

    That is such a great picture. I love the orange tones to the photo. I also love the story–it is nice to know the sidewalk is a safe place to take photos of whatever we choose!

    Maybe they didn’t stop you because it isn’t such a hush hush thing–in fact, the construction in Prineville–mentioned on the news, may be why. The pressure is off your area and onto the next controversy!

    lol

Leave a Reply

