Skip to content

Picture of the Week

September 29, 2010
Beetle

A wood boring beetle opens its wing case as it prepares to take flight. Copyright Mark B. Gibson

Another weekend shot. My wife found this beetle sitting on a rock. I carried the rock, beetle and all, to a nearby surface and set up a tripod and flash. The flash is handheld, a few inches from the beetle, and is connected to the camera with a cord that preserves all the automatic functions of the flash.

I wanted a white background, so first I set a notepad behind the beetle. The pad blew over and smacked the beetle, who didn’t seem to care, so I exchanged the pad for a white bucket.

This gave me a “sort of white” background, which I adjusted to pure white in Photoshop.

I watched and waited, and eventually the beetle decided that I wasn’t trying to kill it and it laid a batch of eggs, positioned itself for takeoff, and buzzed away.

The lens is a macro zoom at the 35mm setting. I have cropped about half the negative away. In the next frame, the beetle is half off the frame… when they decide its time to go, they really go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 19:46

    Okay–so I’ll feature this one instead–WOW! This is the coolest bug–and a great photo.

Leave a Reply

