Skip to content

Picture of the Week

October 20, 2010
Metal hooks and rust

Chain and hooks rust atop metal beams discarded in storage after the building of The Dalles Dam. A nearby boat launch gives access to Lake Celilo above the dam and locks. Copyright Mark B. Gibson

When I first started this blog I wondered how consistant I could be, since there was no good reason to post, or not to post. Now I have missed an entire week… primarily due to technical issues, football and upcoming projects mentioned below.

First, the excuses: Until recently I could pick up a local deli WIFI at my work. Now that has vanished due to hard times and recession. I’m going to have to figure out some new habits, since I can’t just post during slow moments anymore.

I currently have two projects nearing completion that I will soon post regarding the Voyage of Re-discovery, which started in October of last year and continues: One article explores the Riverfront Park in The Dalles, much like the page on Klindt’s Cove, and will be available as a PDF as well as a page post. The second project will explore the massive potential for disastor involved with smoking your a fresh salmon, when you have no idea what the heck you are doing… Not sure where that second one will be going, but it is another reason I missed my week…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. clytie permalink
    October 20, 2010 19:11

    I love rusty things! I’ve discovered that in the past year or so.

    Funny when we feel we have to explain being gone from our blogging … when the only deadlines are ones we impose ourselves. We all had the flu (except Dad – thank God), and I couldn’t blog (ooh that horrible headache!) for over a week. now that I’m better, I find myself awash in self-imposed make-up (in both reading and posting). So it’s kind of funny to read your post about this.

    By the way, I absolutely LOVED your post about the beetle. I laughed til i started coughing again – darn it. :=}

  2. October 20, 2010 21:37

    Wow–your two projects sound really interesting! Especially that last one–as Alan and I do smoke our own salmon with a secret recipe given to us by an old golden glove boxer!

    I love the picture–the rusted chain is candy for the eyes. (grin)

Leave a Reply

