Skip to content

Picture(es) of the week(s)

October 31, 2010
Volleyball save

A high school volleyball player pops a hit back into play. Copyright Mark B. Gibson/The Dalles Chronicle

It was a rouqh week for volleyball, I was “booted” off a couple of sidelines. This used to be a pretty common occurance, but it’s been awhile.

The problem is you almost have to use flash for good volleyball pictures, but there is almost no angle that isn’t in the range of someones’ vision.

One of the official stands on a tour and watches a line along the top of the net… if the flash is opposite them, they will ask you to move… I’ve known this for years. I was trying to shield the referee from the pop of the flash while edging into that visual area, but I got too close. The referee was very nice; they didn’t ask me to leave, I’m exagerating about getting the boot, but I was done anyway. If in doubt about your flash placement, ask the referee.

The second time was when I was taking the above picture. I had a flash mounted to the left, slightly to the back. A second flash was mounted on my camera. This is a great basketball setup, and works well for volleyball… I rarely get complaints, but the visiting coach complained. It was bothering his girls… It took them awhile to figure out what flash he meant, and then I was asked to move it. I turned it off and finished the game with natural light.

I didn’t notice any better play on the part of the visiting team, after moving the flash… The Dalles was dominating when I left after the second game.

Flash complaints are common, especially in rural backwaters… the old gyms are so dark, a flash appears as ferocious as a nuclear explosion or the fiery sparks of hell. I use the smallest flashes I can, turned as low as I can, to minimimize the impact. I shoot with the camera set at 250th of a second, f2.8, digital iso 800 or more if needed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 07:38

    I love this picture! The look on the girl’s face is priceless as she waits for that ball to connect. lol I also enjoy reading all the technical stuff behind the photography. I learn so much when I read what you write.

Leave a Reply

