Skip to content

Mirror Image

March 6, 2011
Bicycle in mirror

A bicycle is reflected in a mirrored window downtown The Dalles. Mark B. Gibson photo

The publisher of Gorge Business Review asked me if I had a picture of downtown, that could be used to show that it is “open for business.”
As I wandered about trying to figure out what I could do on that theme that I hadn’t already done too many times, I started playing around with this tall, narrow mirrored window at a loal business.
I was framing the buildings when the bicycle and inline scater shot past. I only got off this one frame, and I didn’t send it over for the business review, but ran it front page in The Dalles Chronicle.
This was one of the few times I couldn’t get a name to go with a newspaper photo. I quickly checked to see if the one exposure I managed to take had captured anything, and by the time I ran to the corner they were vanishing around yet another corner, a block away.
This photo shouldn’t work: All the action in it is headed out of the frame. Yet somehow the mirror action makes it strong enough, the image sort of rebounds inside itself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 21:25

    What a great shot … for one that shouldn’t work! That’s what makes you such a great photographer, you know.

  2. March 14, 2011 23:31

    Great shot! Came over from Clytie’s Random Hearts to say hello. 🙂

  3. May 13, 2011 08:23

    I really like this one–it took a minute for me to realize there was a mirror there! What a great reflection you caught. You use such creativity in catching the unusual. You are inspiring.

Leave a Reply

