Skip to content

Columbia high water newsreel

June 9, 2011

The Columbia has been running heavy all spring: The reservoirs are filled to capacity, and just a bit more: Channels that have been dry for years are flooded. The river for a time has less resembled a series of lakes, taking instead the character of a mighty and powerful… even scary… river.

Most of these clips were photographed with a “Flip” video camera. I use only the “wide” lens setting, to avoid digitally cropping the image. Sound was recorded using a “zoom” brand recorder.

The segments that appear “jerky” in their flow are an experiment: The first day I ran to get the video camera and it was not in my bag. I decided to see how the six-frames-per-second motor drive on my still camera would translate into video. I imported them into the video at 4 frames of video for each frame of still. The result reminds me of early film footage. I haven’t decided if I like it, but in an emergency it worked very well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 01:20

    I really enjoyed this. Your camera work is great–you have a steady hand and a good eye. I felt homesick for the Gorge when I watched this–the sound of the water, scenery and such.

  2. drjdtm permalink
    November 11, 2011 09:08

    I was impressed w/the audio except for the last few seconds when I could hear you moving around. The camera work was what I would expect from someone of your experience — flawless. Nice job.

    • November 14, 2011 03:56

      Thank you. I’m still figuring out how to work with sound, most of which I have to record separately from the images. I enjoy the combination, but still struggle with the overlapping desire to shoot photos while recording sound, which makes a big racket in the sound recorder. I’m learning to listen as I look, but I’m much less picky about my sound then I my photos… not a good thing. Plus, I’m not yet nearly as skilled in sound editing as I am in photo editing. Yet every time I put the two together, I’m amazed at how the one adds to the other.

Leave a Reply

