Skip to content

Web project

July 31, 2013

I recently created a website to showcase a friends book. Except for the book cover itself, I used photographs by others and created a simple html/css website. It was fun to see it actually go “live” on the web. The book is Living the Oath by fellow Chronicle newsroom grunt RaeLynn Ricarte. Excellent book!

Watching her work on the book for over a year, dedicating so much time and effort to it, I was reminded of when I was a kid and went to sleep to the sound of my mother typing in the next room… Hours and hours of writing, rewriting, editing. I’d wake up early in the morning to the last, triumphant “zing” of the typewriter roller spinning as she zipped off the night’s final page without releasing the carriage. What a lot of work goes into a book!

It’s that kind of dedication that inspired me to become, not a writer, but a photographer!

For those of you who wonder what a typewriter is, or puzzle over how it could go zing, I’m not sure how to explain it… I’ll just say that it’s all a lot noisier then the little tickity-tick-tick sound you make on a computer keyboard. And if that still doesn’t make sense to all of you touch screen users I can only shake my head and wonder what the world is coming to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

